Opiniones de Unity

Por Unity Technologies

Media de valoraciones

  • General
    4,7 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4,2 /5
  • Atención al cliente
    4,4 /5

Sobre Unity

Solución de software para desarrolladores de contenidos y juegos en tiempo real, que ayuda a crear contenido interactivo tanto en 2D como en 3D.

Descubre más sobre Unity

Mostrando 481 opiniones

Usuario verificado
Senior Producer
Juegos de ordenador
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/7/2018

"Unity is changing the games industry for the better"

Comentarios: Unity has opened up games development and made it accessible to many more people than ever before, it offers industry leading tools and capabilities with a relatively low cost of entry. The community and support network around Unity is second to none and many great games have been made with the platform.

Ventajas: When we started out in the games industry, there was a time when 90% of your development effort went into the creation of a bespoke "game engine" for whatever game you were making. 10% of the effort went on the unique elements of the game that you were working on. Unity has been part of a middleware wave that started around 20 years ago (such as Renderware, and many other engines before it) which provide a platform for game creation without positioning itself to being the master of a specific type of genre or game type. This has opened up the world of game development to hundreds of thousands of people, because now you no longer need the low-level expertise of developing a rendering engine, it's already there, and although it's maybe not as cutting edge as a bespoke engine of the bigger AAA titles, it is more than adequate for 99% of the games development world. Particularly indie studios who need low costing solutions to games development. Unity is great, it offers cutting edge graphics, amazing physics, animation, scripting and platform compatibility for a very reasonable price (it's free for personal use up until a certain amount of revenue) - it's simply not cost efficient any more to consider developing your own bespoke engine. And what's more, there's a huge and very helpful community of people out there who have probably faced any problem you encounter during development, a quick google and you have your answer.

Desventajas: Unity doesn't have many drawbacks, if anything it's maybe *too* easy to use in some cases and causes asset rippers (or "flippers") to be able to make and publish very low effort titles onto platforms such as Steam for a small profit. Sadly there's no real way of preventing this (and it's certainly not Unity's issue) Unity doesn't have many flaws, it could perhaps offer some better landscaping and world creation tools (a minor point) and it's 2d game creation abilities are definitely improving but not as good as it's 3d development side. Beyond that, Unity is a wonderful tool for any game developer and is here to stay for a very very long time. It just keeps improving.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/7/2018
Usuario verificado
Unity Developer
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2018

"An incredibly easy to use piece of kit. A truly expansive and versatile engine."

Comentarios: It encouraged me to learn a new skill while I was a teen, programming. This is incredible useful and I have been using it since to create applications and even prototypes within the Unity engine.

Ventajas: Where do I start with this incredible software. Firstly, would be the scripting capability within the engine. It uses C# which is a managed language based on the .NET framework. This underlying framework in conjunction with the Unity API introduces a lot of useful features for keeping your code clean and concise while also being highly performant. This also includes the ability to create custom editor windows within the Unity Editor which can be customised to fit a specific need, streamlining your workflow. Secondly would be the newly introduced High Definition and Lightweight pipelines. They are preset way of rendering the screen which can either produce high fidelity graphics if you are targeting high end platforms or can be used for a more simplistic look if you are targeting low end mobile phones and tablets. These are highly expandable and can be adapted on a per-project basis to get just the look that you want. Thirdly would be the massive array of platforms that Unity can export your game to. This includes but is not limited to, PC/Mac/Linux, Android/iOS as well as consoles soon including the Switch among others. This allows you to quickly deploy to different platforms so they can be uploaded to the cloud and downloaded by your players.

Desventajas: Unfortunately, a piece of kit this large is not without its drawbacks. One of these being that the dark theme can only be accessed by those holding a Unity Plus subscription. This means that those with slightly poorer eye sight may struggle to read the text throughout the user interface. Another con would be that currently, the Unity interface does not currently scale in size when used on high resolution monitors. This leads to an incredibly hard to read user interface and can become very straining on the eyes after just a short session. However this is soon to be fixed in an upcoming Unity version.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/7/2018
Usuario verificado
Line Producer & Sysops Admin
Juegos de ordenador, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/4/2019

"A great engine for small to mid-range project"

Comentarios: We had a great time working on Unity, we pushed the engine to its limit at the time and this allowed us to be featured in many show at Unity's booth. However, as we switched to Unreal3D for the following project, we found a better fit for our needs in that engine. Unity would still be perfect if we had to go work on a less demanding project, less demanding platform and/or 2D projects.

Ventajas: Unity3D is an easy to understand engine, with an intuitive organisation that allow any new developer to get a grip quickly on a new project. Things are getting more complicated as you progress, but support from the community of users makes it easier. The architecture of the folders is simple and allow raw assets to get along easily with integrated ones. This engine is perfect for 2D project and coming up with a prototype in a quick and efficient manner. Starting a 3D project will require more time and optimizations, but the latest versions of the engine are getting better at this.

Desventajas: The main challenge we encountered with our project on Unity was, at the time, the port of the game to consoles. It was very demanding and a lot of updates on the engine were breaking TRC/XR, meaning that we had to wait for fixes before being able to send the builds to console manufacturers and get them certified. On top of that, the engine is trying to compete with other advanced 3D engines, but lack the optimization and "game oriented" architecture that you can find in the heart of other known engines available on the market. This is a great engine for small/mid-ranged project but should be avoided for bigger project that would involve advanced 3D rendering.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/4/2019
Maynard john S.
Research Assistant
Investigación, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/6/2019

"I can create games too! Game development made easy by Unity"

Comentarios: Unity allowed me to enter and understand game development because it has lowered the barrier of entry for game development. It allowed my team and I to quickly iterate on our game ideas and play test it. Although there are hiccups, these may be addressed in the future and is not a deal breaker that would make me stop using Unity.

Ventajas: One of the reasons I admire Unity is that it has broken the barrier and the lessened learning curve needed to become a game developer. It is an approachable tool for anyone that is interested in becoming a game developer and want to learn how to use a game engine. Although I make it sound like something that new game developers use, the is so much more to Unity. Unity has been used to build multiple award winning games for the mobile and the PC platforms. Unity can be very beneficial for people in small teams or individuals working on 2D/3D/AR/VR games who don't have the resources to build their own game engine. It features multiple tools needed for you to create your game and get it out to the market, and it doesn't stop there as there are also tools for analytics on how your game is doing on the market. Examples of these tools are the All in one editor, AI, Animation, world builder, asset store, analytics, and monetization - basically there are too many to mention but I hope you get the idea. The feature I appreciate the most is its ability to allow for collaboration. Scenes, code, and other assets created by someone else collaborating in the project is conveniently reflected to yours and conflicts with these can easily be solved. And aside from that, I could easily create a rapid prototype of my idea and quickly iterate from it because of how easy it is to do on Unity. Lastly, Unity provides an extensive documentation of its functions and features video tutorials.

Desventajas: Unity has a weird way of upgrading. Whenever a new version of Unity is available, I am forced to download a different instance of unity, and this can take a lot of disk space and time. I also encountered instances where my project broke when upgrading unity and sometimes experience inconsistencies between versions. And something I've experienced on my low-end machine are crashes as the project became larger, which is understandable.

Something that advanced game developers might have to consider though is that Unity uses their version of C# (and probably not a modern version of C#) which performs badly compared to C++ at multithreading.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 19/6/2019
Gonzalo B.
Web Developer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/7/2019

"Where the Indie game developers thrive"

Comentarios: Unity is overall a beautiful piece of software that came to do much of the heavy lifting on low-level tech stuff, allowing smaller teams to develop faster and better games in less time, opening the market to more and more people worldwide.

Ventajas: Unity is, out of the box, a beautiful piece of software. Is the kind of middleware that arrives and does the job, the missing link that most of Indie and small game development teams were looking for. Unity has made it simple and easy to develop a game for beginners and experienced users alike and the most important, allowing you to build your game to a plethora of platforms. Now a small team of developers and artists can build and publish a game in several platforms in no time. Unity does great for small and mid-sized projects, I really enjoy prototyping with Unity, even when I know I won't use it for the project itself I like to use Unity to build prototypes because it's easy and fun. The interface is really easy to use, a real playground for developers and artists alike. Their documentation is vast, well-written and constantly updated. Same with the API documentation and the tutorials that will walk you through making a game end-to-end in few hours, the community forum is also helpful when something is not working and you can't work your head around it. The Unity store has also proved useful when I didn't have the time or knowledge to develop some assets I needed for the game. Unity was also helpful in developing apps beyond games, like architectural explorations, interactive art installations, AR showrooms, etc. Overall a great engine that does much of the heavy lifting for you.

Desventajas: Sometimes I felt that the process of upgrading was quite difficult and scary, you have to install a separate instance of the program (taking a lot of space) and some of the projects can be really difficult to adapt to the new version. Some of the assets will stop working and you will find your console full of errors that weren't there before. Another issue is version control, the binaries are pain and still, I haven't found any alternative than committing blindly the scenes, for example, without being able to track what changed from commit to commit. After a few projects, I have found that the app optimization for mobiles is not that great. For example, if you don't meticulously take care of the textures and assets max resolution you can end up with an app weighing a few hundred megabytes. Could be great if the build itself included some optimization towards the assets.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/7/2019
Sean U.
Office Manager
Instituciones religiosas, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Valoración global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/7/2019

"Unity is a great alternative to Unreal"

Comentarios: Its been great. I don't have a finished product that is to be published yet, but Unity has given me all the tools necessary to do so!

Ventajas: Being able to create games is an amazing ability. and Unity makes it a possibility.
- The graphics are amazing
- The amount of tutorials on the internet allow you to become very familiar with the product in very little time.
- The possibilities are only limited by your own imagination and or computing power lol
- The licensing deals when you actually get around to publishing your game are very reasonable.

Desventajas: Like most high-end game creation software, the demand for a computer with great processing power and expensive video cards is a must. If your machine isn't up to the task, creation using Unity can be troublesome. Unreal engine has more in-depth tutorials online and their node system is very easy to learn but Unity does a good job making a name for it's self against the giant that is EPIC Games.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 23/7/2019
Usuario verificado
Co-founder and Sales Analyzer
Bienes de consumo, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/8/2019

"Dreams comes True with Unity 3D"

Comentarios: I always wanted to do game development though I am not in the field of Computer related Engineering but still Unity helped me a lot to make my dream come true. I use it not everyday but atleast in a week and have developed so many basic and some mid-range games in which mostly games are 3d open world, so I can say that making an open world game is really more preferable with Unity 3d. I would suggest every newbie to try Unity atleast once if he just wants to develop a game for not a big purpose. Though testing the Unity games on an android device is quite harmful as it may drain battery because Unity 3d cannot export the optimized game for all devices. So many big companies are using Unity 3d for big purpose too but they have a team of specialists who knows coding really well but an indie developer can't do any big with Unity but can surely try his hands on it.

Ventajas: I have always had a passion of Game development and was so much interested in making my own game for fun, Unity 3d helped me a lot doing this in last few years. Unity 3D is one of the best Game Development Engine out there which is open for everyone. The download and setup for Unity 3D is really easy. Unity 3d doesn't require a much memory though to keep it working on a flow we should have atleast 8gb of ram. Unity 3d supports almost every 3d model format. There are a lot of features already present in Unity 3d like to make a terrain or a plain and there are almost every essential geometrical shapes present. Unity 3d has a Professional-looking User interface which makes the work even more exciting. Unity 3d has an asset store from where we can get so many useful models, animations, scripts etc which are quite helpful in quick development purpose. Though there is a lot of work to do in game development to get the best outcome, Unity makes every outcome worth the effort and atleast satisfies us. The best part of Unity 3d is that it can export the game project to a windows .exe file, android app file and for so many other platforms including Consoles. With Unity 3d, we can make 3d as well as basic and even advanced 2d games which are more interesting though requires a hard and detailed work. Unity 3d has the power that so many big company names are developing Battle Rpyale Games with it. Unity 3d Games are quite easy to load and hence gives a high quality output.

Desventajas: Although Unity 3d has a professional user interface but it's way of working that is C# coding is pretty much tough and requires a good coder though it is a problem only if you target to develop a unique and a big game.
Unity 3d has almost all the amazing features but the output sometimes doesn't worth it(not always), as per as my own personal experience I can say that the games made with Unity 3d are not well optimized to work in different types of devices and especially if we are exporting the game project to work on Android, it is not that much optimized which results in battery drain of some devices though this bad affect is nearly negligible in a new and powerful Android device. Unity has an asset store which is useful but the prices are like bad jokes to the newbies in Game development and for small businesses too, the prices are really high. The setup of Unity for basic use is simple but to export the game projects to Android, it is quite difficult to set everything up. Sometimes it can't support the high texturized models or can't optimize the overall game to work fluent with those models.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/8/2019
Juan carlos G.
Lider de area de desarrollo IA
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/8/2019

"THE Game engine for videogames"

Comentarios: I worked on several simulators on unity and we managed our goas thaks to this tool.
We animated our models inside, programed the logic of a multiiplayer game on it and handled the assets via our .net code.
Also we programed some devices out side thks to the blue tooth port by the .net port api.
Some plug in on the asset store made our life easier like the scene transcitions one.

Ventajas: Really easy to use (if you know what a game means on terms of codification)
Reallystic physc
Collition handlling
Ambien oclusion
Paralex
compatibility with material editors like sublime.
Integrated animator.
Export on several plataforms and devices
Web port(beta)
Several plans for prices (student , small team)
Compatible with control version
Compatibility with visual studio
Compatibility with 3D like oculus ,etc.
Unity asste store allows you to buy code that solve features you nee dto do
Can create projectts that out put to computer ports.
Compatibility with .net 2.0
And other sevral things that made unity one of the best video games engines.

Desventajas: Small curve of learing at the beging.
The web build suck they are heavy and slow to charge but is a beta feature.
The Vr plug in is expensive.
The not compatibility from newer version to olders.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 28/8/2019
Panagiotis K.
Founder & General Manager
Producción audiovisual, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 25/10/2019

"Not just a game engine"

Comentarios: I started by making my own game engine and related tools back at 1993-95, in DOS, using Assembly and Pascal. I was successful and I created some small games that we used to play with my friends from the neighborhood. Later I embraced the 3D Construction Kit, an early attempt to a commercial 3rd party game engine and editor. That was awesome and the era of digital creativity was just starting.
After many years, when I created my own company and team of creatives, I was searching for a game engine to adopt as a development platform for us. It was the time before Unity become successful and famous and I remember that I payed for the license through my own PayPal account to the previous Unity's CEO PayPal directly, and got an installer attached in an email the next day. For some reason I had faith on that team of developers and their product (Unity) seemed to be just right on my needs and philosophy. I was a Windows developer at the time, but Unity came only for OSX back then. So I also purchased an iMac to be able to test the development with the Unity editor.
So many years passed from then and I saw Unity grow, from nothing to the behemoth of a company that it is now. And their technologies and tools grow with them.
My overall experience with Unity is great.
Unity is extremely steady for such a huge development environment, and the editor's interface is well organized and has enough abstraction to make learning the environment easy and intuitive.

Ventajas: I guess many things that I like from Unity, is that the creators of this software keep an open mind as to what game technologies are and how they can be used. I always felt that I think in parallel with them.
What I mean is that, I always thought that technologies used in games can be used in many more aspects of the society and I don't mean only for the entertainment media industries.
The Unity authoring environment keeps this philosophy even after many years of their initial offering to the public. Being a truly open ended authoring environment, that allows the its users to be free as creators.
With Unity almost anyone can build video games, interactive experiences, research applications, powerful media presentations, interactive media that cross boundaries between the digital and the physical.
The interface of the Unity editor makes is easy to import various media types and connect them in an intuitive way, and it is also extendable via scripting, to make your own tools and workflows, if you need that extra mile in your pipeline.
Another thing worth mentioning, is that from early on, the developers of Unity, understood that community driven solutions are also a great way to extend a product. So they created the Unity Asset Store, in which they curate a vast collection of tools and content that is created daily from the creatives that support the Unity community. That adds a lot of value to the product both ways, user and supplier.

Desventajas: Unity in general is an excellent software and is offered in tiers that relate well to any level of user. From the free to the professional and beyond, the price is right and the features are awesome.
In reality, I don't have a specific bad thing to mention about Unity, but from my experience I can guess what might count as a negative to some subset of its users.
First of all, and topmost at the forums and discussions, is that Unity now is a huge company and not the kind of company that was when they started at the beginning. This brings positive value, as Unity now can offer much more platforms for the creators to bring their projects and to provide a vast amount of technologies and workflows for any creative person or team at any industry. But to have all that, a company has to be huge, and with that comes a little de-personalization in the company-to-customer affairs. That means that a user needs patience when it comes to receiving support from Unity, especially on technical issues. Personally I don't mind and I accept the trade of personalization in order to have a very powerful interactive media authoring environment, that can really make whatever I wanted it to make.
After all, if you need urgent person-to-person support, there is a paid option for that too, so professionals who really need that service, can get that too.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 25/10/2019
Usuario verificado
Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/11/2019

"Best tool for Newbie & Expert Game Developers"

Comentarios: My overall experience with unity is quite good, as Ive been working as a Game Developer for over an year, it makes things easier to do, got alot of help through unity forums, and the asset store covers almost evert aspect of Game Development.

Ventajas: Things I like the most about unity is its user friendliness, the UI is easier to understood, is more RAM friendly, and the asset store will cover all your requirements if you dont have enough time to create everything from very scratch.

Desventajas: Cons about the software is its compatability issues, as it happened many times that the project starts misbehaving after new update, so i mostly avoid the tool upgrades.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 11/11/2019
Aleksandra S.
Freelancer
Arte y artesanía, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/12/2019

"Unifying workflow"

Comentarios: Regardless of the issues, Unity is a great starting point for beginners and professional studios, as well as for everyone who wants the simplicity in creating their own software. Chosen by many indie developers, Unity has provided me almost everything I needed to start creating my own game, and in less than a week from installation I had a basic system for the game ready for further development; all that with no prior experience in C# or Unity.

Ventajas: Unity handles all the files needed for creating software as well as game development. It's a powerful and customizable engine allowing to bring any creation into the world. Integration with the Asset Store allows anyone to choose from thousands of development-ready files, and provides a lot of them completely free of charge. Thanks to its tools there's no need for expensive plugins to create and export textures or 3D rigs, everything is available straight from the application.

Desventajas: In recent releases, Unity dropped the support of the pre-packaged code editor, MonoDevelop and replaced it with Visual Studio. For many users, including myself, that's a big issue, as Visual Studio's performance makes it impossible to create code on the go, when using less powerful hardware. MonoDevelop still can be accessed and integrated with Unity but the hassle with installing the crucial tool that is no longer updated may become a big turn off for many. The UI feels quite outdated for the program that is updated so often. Some things just don't work or don't make sense and it's hard to find any information regarding why.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/12/2019
Andrei P.
Lead Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Valoración global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    3 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    7/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/5/2020

"Great game engine for small-medium sized 2D and 3D game dev projects"

Comentarios: Working with Unity is great for a prototype or a small 2D / 3D game. It performs much better than the competition because it's less bulky which unfortunately also leads to more limitations. It's a trade off. Their asset store is great and that can save up so much time, it's unbelievable. All in all it's a pretty fast paced work environment.

Ventajas: Unity has been around for several years now and it's perfected some of workflow for small and medium 2D and 3D games. Good pricing
One of the best parts is that you can make games in Unity and not have to pay anything if you don't mind their logo appearing at the start and you don't earn more than 100k $ revenue per year. If you do go above the threshold or don't want the logo, the pricing starts at 40$ a month per user.

Shorter development period
Compared to the competition (such as Unreal Engine, CryEngine, Lumberyard) small-medium sized games in Unity have a shorter development time. This could partially be due to the fact that it uses C# as it's programming language for scripts. Another thing which could contribute to it is their "prefab" system in which someone can create anything and encapsulate it into a prefab which can then just be drag-dropped on another project and it would mostly work. Their asset store is full of them, and it's one really huge asset store.
Huge community
A big drawback with other game engines is their small community. Luckily, Unity has an enormous about of people using the software, some friendlier than others.
Kinda clean UI
The UI is pretty consistent and clean. I love a clean workspace and Unity is rather good at that.

Desventajas: Unity is known for having mainly 2 bad things: extremely bad support for multiplayer games and limitations once the project becomes too big. Regarding the multiplayer, there are built-in solutions one can buy off the asset store.
Regarding the project's size, that can be fixed by adding a lot of instancing thus not creating a seamless world unfortunately.
The community is big and that's a plus but unfortunately it's not amazingly mature. Unity Technologies is updating Unity quite a lot and that leads to a lot of useless tutorials and docs to follow. There's nothing worse than spending an hour or two following some instructions to find out that at the end you're stuck by not having the same menu/options as the other person. The animation blending too could use a lot more work and some of their behaviors are a bit bugged but noting too severe. The interface is too small on 4k screens. The scaling is quite horrible.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 22/5/2020
Binigya D.
Game Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/10/2020

"Unity - Creating a new generation of Games and Game Developers"

Comentarios: I really love Unity, and it has remained my default choice in making any game, be it a simple 2D platformer or a realistic Spaceship simulator. My experience with Unity has so far been fantastic, and I can honestly recommend it to anyone who wants to make games.
It would not be an overstatement to say that Unity is responsible for the boom in the increasing number of game developers, and has made game development accessible to everyone, to a certain extent. It is a wonderful tool to learn and master, and with AR and VR seeping into mainstream apps and games, learning Unity seems to be a valuable skill for anyone to gain.

Ventajas: Unity is THE game engine you need to be using if you want to speed up your game development process. It makes deploying to multiple platforms a breeze, the User Interface is a delight and the games you can make with it are only bounded by your imagination. Here are some of the highlights of my most favorite things about Unity: - Great Community : You can find a great community for Unity everywhere, whether it be Reddit, Discord, Stack Overflow or its own forums. It really easy to get help and ideas on anything that you want to implement with it. This is by far Unity's greatest strength. - Learning Curve, UI/UX : Anyone can easily pick up Unity, and get started on making simple stuff really quickly. You can find tutorials and guides in any corner of the Internet and the UI is pretty much to-the-point and now with Visual Scripting via Bolt, the barrier to make great games is lowered even further. - Chock full of features : Unity is fully loaded with awesome features. In-built tools for rigging, animation, terrain generation, Lighting, AR/VR support and much much more. - The Asset Store : You can get pretty much everything you would need to make a game in here. Art, Code, Music, VFX, pretty much everything is up for grabs here, so that you outsource some aspects of your games if your are short on time and skill. It is a lifesaver. And there are plenty of high quality free assets here too.

Desventajas: There is little to not like about Unity. It has made game development accessible to many and is opening up new possibilities with its AR and VR toolset. But, there are a few niggles here and there as with any tool, some are minor and some are unfortunately, deal breaking. Some of the things that I like the least about Unity are: - Too much of Half Baked Features : Unity is full of features, but some of them are really not meant for production, and some are straight up confusing and keep changing with every version. The animation pipeline is frankly kind of complicated, with all the new tools that keep on changing. The HDRP/URP pipeline still doesn't support custom hand-written shaders. Switching between HDRP and URP can possibly break your project (Always have a backup ready!), and the Shader Graph and VFX Graph still need much work. And finally, the new DOTS system has been in development since couple of years and is still not production ready and complicated to learn. - Sub par Rendering when compared with competitors: When comparing Unity with AAA game engines like Unreal and CryEngine, the rendering pales in comparison. It has been fixed to some extent with HDRP, but still you need to do a lot of tinkering to get the graphics to look like what you get by default in Unreal Engine. - Web Deployment: Web Deployment is still not satisfactory as Web builds need to be of small size and run on mobile browsers too, both in which Unity fails.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 9/10/2020
Abhishek T.
Founder
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/10/2020

"One of the best engines for game development"

Comentarios: It is brilliant. And since it is free so I believe that any newcomer to the game Industry can take advantage of the game engine and move ahead

Ventajas: There are many pros to start with. In my opinion,the biggest pro is the number of users using the engine itself. (The maximum games submitted for game jams are made using unity). This has enormous advantages:- if you encounter any issues then probability is high that it's solution will be there on the net itself.
Other advantages are :-
1.) the company is a billions dollars industry. So you can be assured of its future
2.) The free version is available which is as powerful as paid one (it costs to remove the unity logo)
3.) Many features are being added (either by developing itself or acquiring from third party)
4.) Bolt,a utility for click and code development is now available for unity at no extra cost, even for free version
5.) Roadmap is very promising
6.) Has been used for many hit games
7.) Most important:- the game size generated is quite small as compared to unreal engine
8.) Uses C#(for some this may be a disadvantage)
9.) Dark version is now available with free version

Desventajas: Engine is powerful but comes with few cons also
1.) Many face issues with C#(it is not as flexible as C++)
2.) UI in my opinion is quite tricky
3.) They sometimes itself get confused on roadmap of unity itself( they promised visual based code development environment but then suddenly they purchased bolt )
4.) Access to engine source code is not available easily( but this will be demanded only by a small section of game developers)
Otherwise the engine is fine

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/10/2020
Rodrigo P.
Student and small game dev
Ingeniería industrial o mecánica, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    4 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/5/2021

"Best game making software to learn to make professional games"

Comentarios: Unity is a friendly enviorment for people to start with game development, people can learn how to create basic games with it and get the hang of C# and unity's tools. But it doesn't stop there, Unity is an engine capable of creating fully professional games and apps that can be transferred from one system to another, i can make my games work in virtually all platforms to this day.

Ventajas: It has all features of a game engine you could ask for, compared to its competence in the market there is nothing it really lacks, the community is big so if you face a problem any time someone probably went throug the same and has probably posted something about it. And the easy it is to make a port of the games/apps is unbelievable. Unity habndles all that for you. Time saver

Desventajas: some of its documentation is old since it's been uptades often

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 6/5/2021
Surya P.
Director & CEO
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2021

"Best 3D Game Development Engine"

Comentarios: Game designing is very easy in this software even for non programmers because they provide visual scripting option too.

Ventajas: It offers free plan to users and has almost all the features needed to build a small or large AAA game. Best thing is that they offer comprehensive collections of assets.

Desventajas: Error handling is frustrating in this software. Suppose if a random error occurs because of importing any plugin/asset then it will ruin the entire project and it is very tough to undo.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2021
Kaarel R.
Developer
Entretenimiento, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    8/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/2/2020

"The simplest way to building games"

Comentarios: Very friendly community and always apt to answer questions.

Ventajas: Unity has a small learning curve, but is extremely powerful. All the content to learn game development in Unity is out there and you do not need to pay any money to master it. It's free and has a huge community!

Desventajas: Unity gets fairly frequent updates and upgrading to a new version of Unity while maintaining your project can become a hassle. They have solved this issue with the introduction of LTS versions.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/2/2020
Antonio M.
Owner
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    3 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/2/2021

"The way to go for making your own game"

Comentarios: Unity is the best solution to create video games and probably one of the easier ways to get into video game industry. We are trying to make a video game companion to our webcomic and have made a good headway, mostly because of the amazing community built around it.

Ventajas: Unity is the best when it comes to community support. Whenever you have a question, a hundred people have an answer. It is amazing to work when you know there are so many resources out there to help you out. Another big plus is the fact that there are so many assets that were created for Unity.

Desventajas: The learning curve is really bad. It took me days to understand simple concepts, but with time I was able to learn enough to actually create simple games.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 2/2/2021
Taylor M.
Development Platform
Diseño gráfico, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/7/2019

"Unity - Way of the Future"

Comentarios: The graphics are mind blowing. Compared to other game creating platforms. Unity gives me the most variety to do just about anything i want to do in creation. When I am stuck on a problem, the forms come in handy to talk to other unity Developers and Creators to see how they solved there problems and help with mine at times. Overall, I am having a blast with this company

Ventajas: Using 3D Graphics, Simplicity, Do not have to only use C++ coding, Button and Control layout is easy to understand.

Desventajas: The extent of what you can do is overwhelming. Customer Support is not active 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Updates, depending on what you have used from unity can break your game and a new technique must be used.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 21/7/2019
Ach H.
Motion Designer
Animación, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 8/4/2021

"You can't Go wrong with Unity, a lot of resources and a good starter if you are new to game making"

Comentarios: Over all I love it, Everything you need is in there, plus it has a huge community to learn alot of different skills on it from free to paid courses and tutorials ! You can't Go wrong

Ventajas: Definitely a steal, this engine is so powerful and it has a very large community, everything you need is in it, plus it has frequent updates

Desventajas: Unity Academy is behind a paywall IDK if it is still the case but it was a turn off like I understand you want to have cash flow but still If I want to use your Engine I need to learn it. The fact that so many files only works under a certain version of Unity, Working like me with different Devs. I filled my SSD with different Unity versions to be able to manipulate the different games the company is working on.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 8/4/2021
David K.
Developer
Juegos de ordenador, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    2 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    2 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    1 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    2/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2020

"It really was good, but that was years ago"

Comentarios: Beginning to use Unity for our largest game to date at first seemed like a good decision but in the end turned out to be a tremendously damaging mistake. The version control systems broke entire project folders multiple times. The conversion formats were never transferable. It's not out of the question that Unity's lackadaisical attitude towards Nintendo's Wii U editor prevented hundreds of titles from releasing on that platform (they ended up two years behind schedule of making a functional version for Wii U development). When Windows 10 started force-installing, Unity did not have functional support for Windows 10 for far too long. When trying to use Unity again (of course outside of commercial games, because it's too unstable in my opinion for those) in game jams, it's routinely been put to shame because of being unusable even by experienced Unity developers.

Ventajas: When I first began using Unity, it was during Unity 4 and I considered it a wonderful editor to make 3D games. I greatly preferred the Unity approach at the time relative to Unreal. I initially learned how to use Unity by making a horror game for a 48-hour game jam over New Year's.

Desventajas: Unity these days is plagued by bugs and I haven't considered Unity "stable" in several years. The company routinely has glaring issues reported by users for years in a row without addressing them, instead opting to add new features, despite the underlying tech not working in the first place. Unity at this point is over-engineered, deeply unstable, and not even optimal in terms of features and usability compared to competitors.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 26/5/2020
Usuario verificado
Filmmaker
Entretenimiento, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    5 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    5 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/6/2021

"Still learning and loving it!"

Comentarios: my overall experience is very positive. The platform is constantly being updated and new tools and technologies are added all of the time. I love the community as well.

Ventajas: Unity has a wonderful and helpful community of professionals and newbies. I haven't felt nervous to ask any question there. The tools themselves are easy to understand if I give myself the time to learn them and concentrate. Also there are a lot of add ons and toolkits that can be had to make my ideas come to life.

Desventajas: I really found the different versioning of the software a bit confusing. There is a version manager where you can update Unity but it also allows you to keep an older version in case your app is effected by the updates in Unity. I had a few problems with uninstalling older versions and they took up a lot of space on my hard drive.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 10/6/2021
Taylor B.
Director of Software Engineering
Juegos de ordenador, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    4 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    Sin valoración
  • Relación calidad-precio
    Sin valoración
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/7/2019

"The game dev software I have been searching for"

Comentarios: I have been able to create the games I have drafted on paper and it has also taken my coding skills to the next level learning coding techniques popular in game dev that were totally new to me. Their asset store has tons of free assets to get you going and building a prototype for a game very quickly if you have the coding skills to do so.

Ventajas: Writing code in C# and integration with Visual Studio or Visual Studio Code and the ability to run the game code with debugging turned on and setting break points to troubleshoot the code.

Desventajas: It takes patience to learn this software, but that was expected as this is a serious game dev product and not some drag-and-drop game creator. It was worth the effort and there are tons of resources online to help learn.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 16/7/2019
Luis daniel R.
Lead Application Developer
Software informático, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    5 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    4 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    3 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    10/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 24/12/2019

"Unity's for you!"

Comentarios: I love it and use it daily to work on my own game. I have been with Unity for 4 years now and it's an amazing engine and getting better by the day. It's so easy a lot of people flip game/apps with how easy to use. I don't endorse that but it gives you an idea of how easy anyone can pick it up and build something.

Ventajas: Unity is one of the most easiest engines to use if you're starting with game development. Also if you previously have a C# background, it will be a breeze. The UI is simple but that can also be one it's downfalls. It's a lot inspector/tabs based but it's full-fledged. It's light and it's not as complex to work with like other engines. You can easily follow tutorials online to build games for it, and also Unity it's one of the best engines to build mobiles games if that's one of your desires. Compared to other engines like Unreal Engine, it's easy with Unity to find online support or groups of people that work with the engine and have tutorials. You can look for people on Youtube like Brackeys that can help you get started on your journey of game dev. Unity is free and has some paid tiers that offer a bit more flexibilities in some features, so look at them and take what you need.

Desventajas: I wish the paid tiers were a little cheaper and the subscription model could be month-to-month and can be canceled any time. One of the main reasons why I haven't got Unity Pro/Plus it's because my life cna be abrupt a lot of the times and I might need to cancel or pause the subscription, but they don't allow you to do that. Becuase if you're an indy dev, you have to do a lot of expenses and keep track of things. I really wish they did that. Also for full 3D games and really complex ones, Unreal engine is more powerful due to it's C++ nature.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 24/12/2019
Usuario verificado
Full-stack Developer
Desarrollo de programas, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
  • Valoración global
    5 /5
  • Facilidad de uso
    5 /5
  • Funcionalidades
    4 /5
  • Asistencia técnica
    3 /5
  • Relación calidad-precio
    4 /5
  • Probabilidad de recomendación
    9/10
  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/8/2020

"El primer paso para desarrollar video juegos."

Comentarios: En general me gusta mucho desarrollar con unity, mis primeros pasos en el desarrollo de videojuegos fueron con esta herramienta. Me gusta mucho como han mejorado con el paso de los años y como se ve incluso que algunos competidores han copiado las ideas del uso de herramientas que poco a poco han mejorado unity.

Ventajas: Es una herramienta bastante completa para la animación y desarrollo de videojuegos; cuenta con una amplia variedad de herramientas que simplifican mucho el proceso de prueba y de relación objeto-accion, mas aparte de que el mismo es compatible con el editor de visual studio, asi que es practico tener un lenguaje de programación como c# para llevar a cabo la lógica de cada evento en código.

Desventajas: El único problema hasta el momento con Unity es la herramienta de actualización, que aparte de que consume muchos recursos (ram y disco) mientras está en ejecución, después de la actualización suele andar lenta la ejecución o prueba de algunas herramientas dentro del mismo unity.

  • Fuente de la reseña 
  • Publicado el 17/8/2020