A powerful log aggregation solution with immensely useful tools built-in for popular applications.

Publicado el 22/2/2018
Gabe M.
IT Administrator
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 5001-10.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
3 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: - Free to use for small 500MB or less daily ingress, quite nice for small use cases and learning
- No development work required to deploy and provide value.
- Deployment flexibility: client agents are available to use, or clientless configurations for multiple OS platforms. It's also very easy to deploy, not just flexible. its a very simple affair.
- Segmentation of logs: You can create separate instances of of logs to aggregate, based on organization needs. And those instances can have their own individual storage policies to optimize consumption of storage resources.
- Configuration design: Thoughtful and mature documentation and design of the application regarding enterprise-class scaling on network storage.
-POWERFUL tools: The user interface lends itself to learning more about your organization from the logs you collect, through metrics of trends of the logs being gathered. There are also specific modules/add-ons for popular applications to provide more value and event-based monitoring, all without having to develop in-house dashboards and intelligence of those logs.
- Customization: You can create your own queries of logs, and event-based alerts.
- Web-based GUI that clean is powerful
- Sales/Technical Reps are top notch in fielding questions and evaluating environment for deployment. They were extremely helpful in helping our organization develop procedures and scaling our environment for expansion with our existing infrastructure.

Contras: - Price: This product is not free for more than the minimal use. Pricing can be very expensive, relative to open source offerings. That is the trade-off you pay for not having in-house development of open source offerings. As this product is priced based on gigabytes of indexed logs, it is important to understand the scope of licensing necessary for your environment to determine if it is a good fit for your organization.
- Watch your saved queries and hardware resources: Users have the ability to create and save queries. Like in database queries, some are more efficient than others. Large inefficient queries can be very resource-intensive. If you notice slowness in day-to-day queries, or navigation in the UI, or resource use in contention, keep an eye on saved queries and user practices.

Query your log statements for your production apps in REAL TIME to triage and monitor performance

Publicado el 2/2/2018
Devaun F.
software consultant
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
3 / 5
Facilidad de uso
4 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: XRAY vision on your production instances. Every day we code our applications so that we will be splunk friendly with our app log statements. For example "featureX=value" allows you to query for every customer that engaged with featureX.

Puntos a favor: Splunk allows us to see exactly what is going on in production! I work on commerce for a fortune 100 company, and we use Splunk to monitor our apps in real time. Splunk gives you the ability to perform queries like you would with SQL against your log statements in real time. You will learn that you can place strategic log statements in your code that allows you to identify situations in production and be proactive at solving them. For example, you can log your customer's session cookie ID, and track any given customer's activity on your website via your app logs. It gives you dials and charting capabilities to monitor even the slightest drops in customer activities due to flaws in code or slowing network calls.

Contras: PRICE. The software is so powerful, and they seem to leverage this in the pricing of the licenses.

Offers more than you think

Publicado el 7/2/2018
David B.
Production Support Clan Manager
Entretenimiento
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
4 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: We've used the software to detect layer 7 attacks, unearth issues we didn't realize were happening and gives us end to end insight into our stack.

Puntos a favor: The system is highly intuitive to use. It is faster than other solutions I've used on the market and has a huge library of 3rd party plugins to get more from the system. It is easy to create scheduled searches, dashboards, reports etc. but there are a number of additional plugins (at an extra cost) to help with security, single pane of glass and metric collection.

Contras: It offers challenges for a decentralized working model. Where Splunk is centrally managed, it is easy to ensure that best practices are maintained. Where the system is opened up for an entire department to utilize and on-board their logs, it becomes more difficult. However, with some creative thinking and good process, this issue can be overcome.

Splunk review

Publicado el 12/7/2019
Kalaiselvan K.
Integration Enginner
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 501-1000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
4 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
4 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Overall, it is a very good monitoring tool for an support team and developers for doing root cause analysis.

Puntos a favor: Splunk Visually represents the logs mainly from production servers in the web UI . People who Usually has no access to logs in production servers, will access the logs through splunk UI with very simplified and friendly search query. It has lot of features like you can query for particular date and time range with specific characters. The search engine is very fast which will bring the query response effectively. we can access all types of logs including XML and JSON. we can create a custom dashboard with custom query for each projects and can relatively trigger the email to the support team in case of any issues. This tool is boon for production support team in any enterprise company.

Contras: Licensing cost is quite higher for enterprise usage. Query response time will be slow when you are searching for relatively longer history(Eg. 3 months old data)

Finding Splunk Before Splunk Finds You

Publicado el 30/6/2015
Robert F.
Consultoría de gestión
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: Splunk is more than a tool or a product, it is a big data platform. Splunk can be used as a simple log aggregator all the way to a Big Data engine to find efficiency in operations of the Internet of Things. Splunk is less about its abilities, and more about your imagination about what you can do with Splunk. That is the beauty of the platform. Splunk shines in providing operational intelligence about systems and processes. Finding out how your systems are operating, how your processes are functioning leads to quick resolution of problems and points to where budgets are best spent.

Contras: Splunk is deceptively easy to set up and use. But like learning to play chess, you can learn the moves in half an hour, but take a lifetime to master. Splunk quickly provides value, but requires imagination and creativity as well as wide ranging knowledge of systems and processes to move to the next level. Not every organization needs that kind of talent to get a great return from Splunk, but the companies who compete and win will.

Best Tool for Monitoring Purposes.

Publicado el 15/4/2019
Shashank V.
Software Trainee
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: As a user of Splunk, we generally used to monitor the log provided by the server clusters belonging to a tool called API Connect. As the logs are stored in Splunk, we tally the transaction count from API Connect tool and filter the log search in Splunk with a particular search query. We can download the logs of particular time and date of API Connect servers in case of transaction count issues. We create a dashboard for all the individual API's transaction count in terms of total transaction count of all API's. In this way, it makes our work easier to find out which API has the highest transaction count. We even use Splunk to know the state of the machine. Reports generated by the Splunk helps us to find out the API with the highest response time. In this way, Splunk makes our work a lot easier as it is very fast and highly secure.

Puntos a favor: 1) Accepts multiple data formats like CSV, JSON, XML
2) Does the hard work for us i.e converting machine data to a human-readable format.
3) Can create customized alerts to serve our business purpose.
4) Searching on the based on queries is pretty simple.
5) We can create dashboards to analyze and visualize our search results.
6) Can export the log content to our Personal computers.
7) Setting up plugins and integrating with any tool that needs monitoring is pretty easy.
8) Technical support for the Splunk is very quick as they have a dedicated staff for that.

Contras: I did not find any flaws with this software.

Great for log analysis

Publicado el 28/7/2019
Mark T.
Network Admin
Minería y metalurgia, 5001-10.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to build reports and determine causes of issues. In addition being able to trend and look for the data in the many logs is very helpful.

Puntos a favor: We use this tool primarily as a repository for syslog messages for infrastructure. It allows us to quickly analyze the logs and patterns to determine issues based on patterns. In addition it alerts very well from text based trigger alerts. These features are very easy to use and dependable.

Contras: I do not have any cons for this software. Mainly as a user it does exactly what I need it to do with no overhead and confusing interfaces.

Great log analysis software

Publicado el 11/10/2017
Neha V.
Software Engineer
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
3 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated.
Gives very powerful insights into the logs
Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Contras: The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Software is fantastic once you get it fed the data. Setup can be a bear.

Publicado el 9/7/2018
Usuario verificado
IT Specialist
Servicios para el consumidor, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
3 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Software saves a great deal of time tracking down errors and issues in the network. Was able to spot a security issue using the software we might never have even noticed otherwise.

Puntos a favor: Fast consolidation of disparate logs in an easy to search way for troubleshooting. I can find problems within my organization very quickly. Sales team was very responsive in getting me a trial license to estimate my needs.

Contras: Set up takes some time and planning. The Licensing scheme can be pretty expensive and until you've got it up and running it can be hard to estimate how much license you need.

A tool that every sys admin needs to have

Publicado el 14/2/2018
Usuario verificado
Systems Administrator
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
4 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: I'm not sure from where to start in this case. We use splunk for many things but mostly to analyze the traffic on the network / firewalls. It provides us with a nice overview of what's going on. It makes it very easy to spot spikes on the network and it will provide you also with deep analyzes. For us it's an indispensable tool, probably the best tool we have.

Contras: To search for something is not always easy, however there are a lot of forums online, so finding help is not that difficult.

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

Publicado el 8/11/2018
Mark M.
Software QA Engineer 5
Instituciones religiosas, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
4/5
En general
3 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Puntos a favor: Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Contras: Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

This is the tool every devops should have expertise on!

Publicado el 18/1/2018
Biswajit M.
Production Engineer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 10.001+ empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
4/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
4 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
4 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Made life easier for all SRE/DevOps oncall.

Puntos a favor: First of all you don't need to login to your servers. Just configure splunk forwarder on all of your server and have peace of mind. During outages you dont have to panic and just rely on Splunk and be sure that you will have your root cause visible in splunk.

Contras: Kernel huge page issues, Search head clustering, Index clusetering. These features are as good as costly too. For SHC and IC it does need all same config hosts.

This is one of the best tool for capturing logs information almost every mnc's uses this.

Publicado el 16/2/2018
Irfan S.
consultant
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio

Puntos a favor: The loving thing i have in splunk is it has very good UI environments wherein everything is categorised in dashboards and each dashboard has a unique facility to log and this has the aback up of the most to most one year data and is better utilised in large-scale mnc to track the flow of messages

Contras: We are looking for optimisation of the options please remove unwanted options from UI and all the small icons to make large

Premium but pricey log management and analytics tool

Publicado el 28/4/2019
Usuario verificado
Tech Lead, Strategic Alliances and Business Development
Software informático, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña 
4/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
3 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
3 / 5
Asistencia técnica
3 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Having a enterprise-ready centralized logging tool is critical for production success.

Puntos a favor: Splunk integrates with almost all popular enterprise software products including VMware, AWS, Azure, etc. Most customers use it primarily to do log analysis but it can also perform data analytics for business reporting. The UI is very straightforward and enables you to quickly search through large datasets using SPL. We were able to quickly locate the source of the issues by using Splunk to triangulate logs from several different components. There is a Splunk Cloud version with a free trial if you are aiming to do some integration work and testing. Finally, like all monitoring tools, Splunk offers AI and machine learning for even better predictive analytics.

Contras: Splunk is expensive and probably not for smaller startup companies. The pricing is tiered and is subscription-based so if you start to ingest a lot of data, look out. It can eat into most of your IT budget and Splunk by itself doesn't handle all the Day 2 operations that are needed.

An excellent tool fol log analysis

Publicado el 18/6/2015
Andrea O.
Office Manager
Servicios financieros
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
En general
4.5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
4.5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: Splunk is a great enterprise-class tool for log analysis and troubleshooting of IT systems.
Its graphics capabilities allow you to easily see trends that would otherwise go unnoticed.
With a single click, you can retrieve information dating back months ago.
Splunk is able to handle any type of input file and this allowed us to get very rapid prototyping cycles.
Compared to the competition, it has integrated AD authentication, which fits in perfectly with our corporate security.
The software is very fast, even on second-tier hardware.

Contras: The license fee is a little too high.
Some sections of the support site contain outdated information.
Since the Splunk syntax has changed over the years, it's quite easy to find information that is no longer relevant.
The "basic" charting options are somewhat limited, and the "advanced graphic" syntax requires a charting guru.

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

Publicado el 12/2/2018
Shaik A.
Associate Software Engineer
201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: make our business life easy

Puntos a favor: The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Contras: There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

Splunk is great for finding things in server logs

Publicado el 9/5/2018
Mattt J.
Pre-Implementation Onboarding Coordinator
Transporte/transporte en camión/ferrocarril, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: The server logs are all stored in the same location and you can easy subdivide them by application. So different servers or processes or whatever can be in different buckets. This makes troubleshooting easier.

Contras: Sometimes depending on far back you are trying to go the product can be a little sluggish. Beyond that nothing.

Best thing for monitoring application

Publicado el 9/10/2018
Shalinee S.
Web UI Developer
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: good log monitoring tool

Puntos a favor: We are using this tool for monitoring our services log. It is easy to monitor the data using this. For each service, you can configure which log file should be shown on the UI(web). On UI, it provides lot of features like finding pattern in logs, doing analysis and generating reports and much more.

Contras: Learning is slow. Initially, it takes time to understand the reports and pattern it finds out of the log. But it's worth learning it.

Very cool but pricey

Publicado el 8/8/2017
Joevanne V.
IT Security Engineer
Servicios financieros, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
2 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Contras: Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

One of the best place where it store massive logs for quick view and helps us in troubleshoot best

Publicado el 4/10/2017
Irfan S.
Developer
Software informático, 1001-5000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: A lot of the manual work.got reduced it helped a lot in getting the data from.server

Puntos a favor: The best part of it is its UI which has very responsive page and can drag couple of days logs. Best in its performance and versions are being upgraded at regular intervals and its best in delivering the outcomes as required

Great Log Manager To Have Fireproof Applications!

Publicado el 29/3/2019
Christian R.
Software Engineer
Software informático, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: With Splunk your platform should be safe and easy to maintain, specially if your are constantly adding features into it thanks to its error alerts.

Puntos a favor: User friendly and an awesome dashboard to manage your logs and analyze your apps.

Contras: It can be a little expensive but it's worth.

Splunk Review

Publicado el 4/6/2019
Carlo T.
IT Manager
Servicios financieros, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña 
4/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
4 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
Asistencia técnica
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Contras: At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

Splunk - Log management, analysis and action software

Publicado el 2/11/2018
Jean F.
CTO
Telecomunicaciones, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
En general
5 / 5
Facilidad de uso
5 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
5 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Identify and resolve quickly your operations and security matters with this great application.

Puntos a favor: All in one solution to collect logs, analysis, diagnose and report. The application has a nice console where it shows all the necessary information with some very nice graphics and information.

Contras: Free for 500M/day but a bit expensive if you need to collect more, or have the need to have more users logging in.

Splunk review

Publicado el 9/8/2019
Usuario verificado
Web Services Developer
Servicios financieros, 201-500 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
3 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
4 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Comentarios: Mainly checking code for Fatal errors and application error which does not break in development environment.

Puntos a favor: I work at Fintech company and we use Splunk for checking error logs and tracking anything that goes wrong within the system. I like Splunk as it gives exact line number which is breaking the code which makes easier to debug.

Contras: The index should be accurate otherwise viewing logs is not easy.

Perfect for huge infrastructure

Publicado el 7/11/2017
Harmandeep singh S.
Graduate Assistant
Servicios financieros, 10.001+ empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña 
Fuente: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
En general
4 / 5
Facilidad de uso
4 / 5
Características y funcionalidades
4 / 5
Asistencia técnica
5 / 5
Relación calidad-precio
Probabilidad de recomendación:
Muy baja Muy alta

Puntos a favor: 1.Ease of use
2.support ad-hoc query and then analytic.
3. defining field extractor is simple and you can use it to search again.
4. It's a powerful ecosystem

Contras: 1., it's slow and maybe make system unresponsive when you search data over long time range, or large amounts of data
2. there are too much CPU cost when index too much items on Windows machine.
3. price becomes high as you scale.